Toptal vs Globant: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Toptal (4.4/5) edges ahead of Globant (4.1/5) overall. Toptal is the better choice for a few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer. Globant is the stronger option for enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as a subscription instead of paying for hours. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Toptal vs Globant: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Toptal | Globant |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2010 | 2003 |
| HQ | Remote-first (no central office) | Luxembourg (founded in Buenos Aires, Argentina) |
| Team size | Large freelance network | 27,000+ |
| Rating | 4.4 / 5 | 4.1 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial | Token-metered AI Pods subscription alongside conventional staffing |
| Pricing model | Hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request | AI Pods subscription with token-based capacity; conventional teams billed monthly; rates on request |
| Min. engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Primary tech stack | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow | Python, OpenAI, Google Cloud |
| Industries served | Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail | Media, Financial services, Retail, Travel, Healthcare |
Toptal vs Globant: overview
Toptal
Toptal has run its remote freelance network since 2010, and its buying model is the most flexible on the hours side. You can book a machine learning, NLP or generative AI specialist for a few hours a week or full-time, billed hourly or weekly, and each new engagement starts with a no-risk trial. Toptal says fewer than 3% of applicants pass a screen that ends with interviews by senior engineers and a test project. What you give up is a stable employee: freelancers choose their clients, and Toptal publishes no rate card.
Globant
Globant was founded in 2003 in Buenos Aires and had about 27,400 employees in mid-2026 after cutting from roughly 30,000. It is here because of how its newest service is bought. AI Pods are agent-driven service units supervised by Globant experts and sold as a subscription with token-based capacity, so you pay for output rather than for engineers' hours. AI Pod annual recurring revenue reached $52.8 million in June 2026, still around 2% of company revenue. Classic staff augmentation remains available, but this is a large generalist, not an AI specialist.
Services and capabilities: Toptal vs Globant
| Capability | Toptal | Globant |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time dedicated engineers | ✗ | ✗ |
| Part-time / fractional experts | ✓ | ✗ |
| Dedicated team | ✗ | ✓ |
| Trial before commitment | ✓ | ✗ |
| Published rates | ✗ | ✗ |
| Direct hire option | ✗ | ✗ |
| Subscription or output-based pricing | ✗ | ✓ |
| Nearshore time-zone overlap | ✗ | ✓ |
| LLM / GenAI engineers | ✓ | ✓ |
| MLOps | ✗ | ✗ |
| Computer vision | ✗ | ✗ |
| Data engineering | ✗ | ✓ |
Tech stack comparison: Toptal vs Globant
| Framework / platform | Toptal | Globant |
|---|---|---|
| PyTorch | ✓ | N/A |
| TensorFlow | ✓ | N/A |
| LangChain | ✓ | N/A |
| Hugging Face | ✓ | N/A |
| OpenAI | ✓ | ✓ |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | N/A | ✓ |
| Databricks | N/A | ✓ |
| Kubernetes | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Toptal vs Globant
| Criterion | Toptal | Globant |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Engagement models | Part-time fractional, Freelance contract, Trial period | Subscription, Dedicated team, Project delivery |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Not public |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Toptal vs Globant
| Dimension | Toptal | Globant |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Technology, Finance, Healthcare | Media, Financial services, Retail |
| Best use cases | Booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week, Covering a three-month NLP project with one freelancer | Testing a subscription model for internal software maintenance, Buying agent-driven QA capacity by the token |
| Typical project type | Part-time fractional | Subscription |
Toptal vs Globant: pros and cons
| Toptal | |
|---|---|
| + | Part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception |
| + | Trial at the start of each engagement |
| + | Published screening with engineer-run interviews |
| - | Premium pricing and no public rate card |
| - | Freelancers can leave for another client |
| - | Less suited to building a stable team of several engineers |
| Globant | |
|---|---|
| + | A genuinely different way to buy: output capacity, not headcount |
| + | Large Latin American workforce on U.S.-friendly hours |
| + | Publicly listed, with audited reporting on the AI Pods business |
| - | AI Pods are new and only about 2% of revenue |
| - | A generalist where AI is one line among many |
| - | Recent layoffs and a cut to annual guidance in 2026 |
Who should choose Toptal?
A typical fit: booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week.
Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail.
Who should choose Globant?
A typical fit: testing a subscription model for internal software maintenance.
Token-metered AI Pods subscription alongside conventional staffing. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Media, Financial services, Retail, Travel, Healthcare.
Decision matrix: Toptal vs Globant
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want one engineer full-time on a monthly contract | Neither lists full-time placements; ask about minimum hours |
| You only need a specialist a few days a week | Toptal |
| You want to test an engineer before committing | Toptal |
| You need a rate before the first call | Neither publishes rates; ask both for a written rate card |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Toptal (Not published) vs Globant (Not published) |
| You may want to hire the engineer permanently later | Neither lists direct hire; agree conversion terms up front |
| You want several engineers working as one team | Globant |
Use case fit: Toptal vs Globant
| Use case | Toptal fit | Globant fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week | Strong | Limited | Toptal |
| Covering a three-month NLP project with one freelancer | Strong | Limited | Toptal |
| Testing a subscription model for internal software maintenance | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| Buying agent-driven QA capacity by the token | Limited | Strong | Globant |
Verdict: Toptal vs Globant
Toptal (4.4/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Staff Augmentation projects. Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial.
Globant (4.1/5) is worth a look if you need buying agent-driven QA capacity by the token. If your situation matches that, Globant is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Toptal vs Globant FAQ
Is Toptal better than Globant?
Toptal (4.4/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Toptal's strongest advantage: part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception. Globant's strongest advantage: a genuinely different way to buy: output capacity, not headcount.
How do Toptal and Globant differ in pricing?
Toptal uses hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request pricing. Globant uses ai pods subscription with token-based capacity; conventional teams billed monthly; rates on request pricing. Neither firm publishes a full rate card; a discovery call is required for project-specific quotes.
Which is better for enterprise: Toptal or Globant?
Globant is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Toptal and Globant?
Toptal's primary differentiator is: hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. Globant's primary differentiator is: token-metered AI Pods subscription alongside conventional staffing. They also differ in team size (Large freelance network vs 27,000+), minimum engagement (Not published vs Not published), and primary industries served (Technology, Finance vs Media, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.