Top AI Staff Augmentation Services

Toptal vs Uvik Software: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

Toptal (4.4/5) edges ahead of Uvik Software (4.3/5) overall. Toptal is the better choice for a few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer. Uvik Software is the stronger option for knowing the rate band before the first sales call. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.

Toptal vs Uvik Software: head-to-head summary

Criterion Toptal Uvik Software
Founded 2010 2015
HQ Remote-first (no central office) Tallinn, Estonia
Team size Large freelance network 50–249
Rating 4.4 / 5 4.3 / 5
Primary differentiator Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice
Pricing model Hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request $50–$99/hr (Clutch band); monthly per engineer; 14-day scaling terms for squads
Min. engagement Not published Not published
Primary tech stack Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow Python, FastAPI, Django
Industries served Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms, E-commerce, Healthcare

Toptal vs Uvik Software: overview

Toptal

Toptal has run its remote freelance network since 2010, and its buying model is the most flexible on the hours side. You can book a machine learning, NLP or generative AI specialist for a few hours a week or full-time, billed hourly or weekly, and each new engagement starts with a no-risk trial. Toptal says fewer than 3% of applicants pass a screen that ends with interviews by senior engineers and a test project. What you give up is a stable employee: freelancers choose their clients, and Toptal publishes no rate card.

Uvik Software

Uvik Software, founded in 2015 and based in Tallinn with a sales office in Ipswich, sells Python engineers for data, AI and backend work, and it is one of the few providers here whose buying terms you can read before calling. Clutch lists a $50 to $99 hourly band. Squads of three to eight engineers can be scaled up or down on 14 days' notice, and profiles arrive within 24 to 48 hours. All engineers are full-time employees with seven to fourteen years of experience on average. An aggregator mentions a 30-day free replacement, but Uvik's own pages don't confirm it.

Services and capabilities: Toptal vs Uvik Software

Capability Toptal Uvik Software
Full-time dedicated engineers ✗ ✓
Part-time / fractional experts ✓ ✗
Dedicated team ✗ ✓
Trial before commitment ✓ ✗
Published rates ✗ ✓
Direct hire option ✗ ✗
Subscription or output-based pricing ✗ ✗
Nearshore time-zone overlap ✗ ✗
LLM / GenAI engineers ✓ ✓
MLOps ✗ ✗
Computer vision ✗ ✗
Data engineering ✗ ✓

Tech stack comparison: Toptal vs Uvik Software

Framework / platform Toptal Uvik Software
PyTorch ✓ ✓
TensorFlow ✓ N/A
LangChain ✓ N/A
Hugging Face ✓ N/A
OpenAI ✓ ✓
AWS ✓ ✓
Azure ✓ N/A
Google Cloud N/A N/A
Databricks N/A ✓
Kubernetes N/A N/A

Pricing comparison: Toptal vs Uvik Software

Criterion Toptal Uvik Software
Minimum engagement Not published Not published
Engagement models Part-time fractional, Freelance contract, Trial period Full-time dedicated, Dedicated team
Rate transparency Not public Not public
Price tier Mid-market Mid-market

Target audience comparison: Toptal vs Uvik Software

Dimension Toptal Uvik Software
Best company size Startup to mid-market Startup to mid-market
Best industries Technology, Finance, Healthcare SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms
Best use cases Booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week, Covering a three-month NLP project with one freelancer Adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM, Scaling a Databricks squad from three to six for a quarter
Typical project type Part-time fractional Full-time dedicated

Toptal vs Uvik Software: pros and cons

Toptal
+ Part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception
+ Trial at the start of each engagement
+ Published screening with engineer-run interviews
- Premium pricing and no public rate card
- Freelancers can leave for another client
- Less suited to building a stable team of several engineers
Uvik Software
+ Rate band is published
+ 14-day notice to scale a squad up or down
+ Employed engineers only, no freelancers
- Python only
- No part-time option published
- Replacement guarantee is reported only by third parties

Who should choose Toptal?

A typical fit: booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week.

Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail.

Who should choose Uvik Software?

A typical fit: adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM.

A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms, E-commerce, Healthcare.

Decision matrix: Toptal vs Uvik Software

Your situation Recommended choice
You want one engineer full-time on a monthly contract Uvik Software
You only need a specialist a few days a week Toptal
You want to test an engineer before committing Toptal
You need a rate before the first call Uvik Software
Your budget is at the lower end Compare: Toptal (Not published) vs Uvik Software (Not published)
You may want to hire the engineer permanently later Neither lists direct hire; agree conversion terms up front
You want several engineers working as one team Uvik Software

Use case fit: Toptal vs Uvik Software

Use case Toptal fit Uvik Software fit Winner
Booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week Strong Limited Toptal
Covering a three-month NLP project with one freelancer Strong Limited Toptal
Adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM Limited Strong Uvik Software
Scaling a Databricks squad from three to six for a quarter Limited Strong Uvik Software

Verdict: Toptal vs Uvik Software

Toptal (4.4/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Staff Augmentation projects. Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial.

Uvik Software (4.3/5) is worth a look if you need scaling a Databricks squad from three to six for a quarter. If your situation matches that, Uvik Software is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

Toptal vs Uvik Software FAQ

Is Toptal better than Uvik Software?

Toptal (4.4/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Toptal's strongest advantage: part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception. Uvik Software's strongest advantage: rate band is published.

How do Toptal and Uvik Software differ in pricing?

Toptal uses hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request pricing. Uvik Software uses $50–$99/hr (clutch band); monthly per engineer; 14-day scaling terms for squads pricing. Neither firm publishes a full rate card; a discovery call is required for project-specific quotes.

Which is better for enterprise: Toptal or Uvik Software?

Uvik Software is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.

What are the main differences between Toptal and Uvik Software?

Toptal's primary differentiator is: hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. Uvik Software's primary differentiator is: a public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice. They also differ in team size (Large freelance network vs 50–249), minimum engagement (Not published vs Not published), and primary industries served (Technology, Finance vs SaaS, Fintech).

Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.