Top AI Staff Augmentation Services in 2026
Ranked reviews of 28 providers that add AI engineers to your team, compared on how you can buy from them: full-time, part-time, by trial or by subscription.
Which AI staff augmentation service is best?
Short answer: Tensorway is the top pick because it sells full-time engineers, part-time experts and a two-week trial sprint from one AI-only bench. Index.dev has the safest trial, Toptal the most flexible hours and Azumo the lowest published rate.
- Best overall: Tensorway – Full-time, part-time and two-week trial options from the same AI-only provider
- Best for a refundable trial before you commit: Index.dev – A refundable 30-day trial on every placement, plus direct hire
- Best for a few hours a week of senior expertise: Toptal – Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial
- Best for the lowest published rate: Azumo – A $25–$49 Clutch band with engineers working U.S. hours
- Best for buying many AI seats under one contract: Quantiphi – Elastic Staffing, a packaged staffing program built with AWS
- Best for paying for output instead of hours: Globant – Token-metered AI Pods subscription alongside conventional staffing
How do the 28 top AI staff augmentation services compare?
All 28 providers in rank order. Few publish rates, so the pricing column describes how each one bills.
| Company | Best for | Pricing model | Min. engagement | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tensorway Editor's pick | Starting small, testing fast and adjusting headcount every month | Monthly rate for full-time dedicated engineers; hourly or weekly billing for part-time fractional experts; two-week trial sprint; rate card on request | Not disclosed | |
| Startups that want their money back if the first month doesn't work | Monthly rate per engineer; direct-hire fee; 30-day refundable trial; rates on request | Not published | | |
| A few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer | Hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Long monthly contracts with employed senior ML engineers | Team extension billed monthly per engineer; projects quoted separately; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Knowing the rate band before the first sales call | $50–$99/hr (Clutch band); monthly per engineer; 14-day scaling terms for squads | Not published | | |
| U.S. buyers who need the lowest published rate with same-day overlap | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); staff augmentation or dedicated team; no long-term commitment (per company) | $10,000+ | | |
| Procurement teams that want a defined staffing product from a large AI-only firm | Elastic Staffing billed per specialist; consulting quoted separately; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Agent engineering bought at a known rate and minimum | $100–$149/hr (Clutch band); team extension or project billing | $10,000+ | | |
| Startups that need a senior AI engineer for a few hours a week on a monthly retainer | Monthly retainer for part-time engagements; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as a subscription instead of paying for hours | AI Pods subscription with token-based capacity; conventional teams billed monthly; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Financial firms that want flexible, short engagements with LLM specialists | Monthly per engineer or project fee; rates on request | Not published | | |
| U.S. teams that want a nearshore ML engineer at a known mid-range rate | $50–$99/hr (Clutch band); augmentation or project delivery | $25,000+ | | |
| A small dedicated computer vision or NLP team rather than one person | Dedicated team billed monthly; projects from under $50,000 to over $100,000 (Clutch); rates on request | Not published | | |
| U.S. companies that want a Latin American AI engineer without upfront fees or a long contract | Monthly per engineer; no upfront fees or long-term contracts (per company); senior AI/ML all-in cost about $103,000/yr (company benchmark) | Not published | | |
| Several remote AI engineers matched quickly | Monthly or hourly per developer; no public rate card; about $100–$200/hr (third-party estimate) | Not published | | |
| Senior ML practitioners bought by the project | Project or fractional billing; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Companies buying long-term remote engineers at lower cost, with some AI roles in the mix | Monthly per engineer; marketplace and managed options; rates on request | Not published | | |
| MLOps or vision work with a two-week trial at offshore prices | Monthly per engineer or team; two-week trial; rates on request | Not published | | |
| U.S. buyers who want AI and software engineers under one nearshore contract | Monthly per engineer or team; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Cost-focused buyers who need Python data and AI developers started this week | Monthly per developer or team; offshore rates; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Enterprises that want to move between augmentation and a managed team with one vendor | Monthly per engineer or managed team; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Coverage in both Americas and European hours under one contract | Monthly per engineer or team; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Companies that want to choose between a recruiting fee and monthly outstaffing for Ukrainian AI talent | Recruiting fee per hire; outstaffing billed monthly; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Healthcare data teams buying a monthly NLP or data science team | Dedicated team billed monthly; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Academic ML depth for one defined project | Project-based fees; rates on request | Not published | | |
| Many contract contributors, with a short test before paying for longer | Hourly or monthly per contractor; one-week test; rates on request | Not published | | |
| U.S. companies that want to convert a contract AI engineer to staff | Contract bill rate or placement fee; contract-to-hire conversion; rates on request | Not published | | |
| AI labs buying short-term expert work in volume | Contractor rate plus platform fee (about 30%, Sacra estimate) | Not published | |
What are the ways to buy AI staff augmentation?
Most AI staff augmentation is sold in one of four shapes. A full-time dedicated engineer works only for you and is billed monthly. A fractional expert gives you part of each week, billed by the hour, by the week or on a retainer, while a dedicated team is several engineers sold as one unit, often with a lead. Then there is the trial, anything from Folio3's two weeks to Index.dev's refundable 30 days, which lets you test any of the other three before signing for longer. Most providers here sell one or two of these shapes. Tensorway, ranked first, sells all four.
Which shape fits depends on how much of the work you will direct yourself. With augmentation, the engineer joins your team, takes your tickets and goes through your code review, so the decisions and the knowledge stay with you. Outsourcing hands both to the vendor. That is simpler to manage and harder to unwind. Hiring in-house keeps everything, but a senior machine learning (ML) hire can take months. If you have a strong technical lead and a backlog that keeps changing, augmentation is usually the better buy.
Rate structure comes next, and few providers answer it in public. Of the 28 here, only Azumo, Uvik Software, Vstorm and Pento publish an hourly band, all on Clutch, and only Azumo, Vstorm and Pento show a minimum project. Everyone else quotes after a call. That alone is not a warning sign, but it means you should ask every provider for the same three things in writing: the monthly cost per engineer at the seniority you need, the notice period, and what a replacement costs.
Which frameworks and clouds does each provider cover?
Short answer: Python and PyTorch are close to universal. The cloud each provider favors, and whether it covers agent tooling such as LangChain, split the list more.
| Company | Primary tech stack |
|---|---|
| Tensorway | Python, PyTorch, LangChain, OpenAI, Hugging Face |
| Index.dev | Python, PyTorch, LangChain, Hugging Face, OpenAI |
| Toptal | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, Hugging Face, OpenAI |
| deepsense.ai | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, LangChain, AWS |
| Uvik Software | Python, FastAPI, Django, Databricks, Snowflake |
| Azumo | Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, LangChain, AWS |
| Quantiphi | Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch, AWS, Google Cloud |
| Vstorm | Python, LangChain, LlamaIndex, OpenAI, Anthropic |
| Go Fractional | Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, LangChain, AWS |
| Globant | Python, OpenAI, Google Cloud, AWS, Azure |
| Neurons Lab | Python, LangChain, OpenAI, Amazon Bedrock, AWS |
| Pento | Python, PyTorch, scikit-learn, AWS, Google Cloud |
| InData Labs | Python, PyTorch, OpenCV, Hugging Face, OpenAI |
| Revelo | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, OpenAI, AWS |
| Turing | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, OpenAI, AWS |
| Tribe AI | Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, Anthropic, LangChain |
| Andela | Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch, OpenAI, AWS |
| Folio3 | Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch, OpenCV, LangChain |
| BairesDev | Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch, OpenAI, AWS |
| Algoscale | Python, Spark, Databricks, AWS, Azure |
| N-iX | Python, Spark, Databricks, AWS, Azure |
| Svitla Systems | Python, PyTorch, LangChain, OpenAI, AWS |
| Data Science UA | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, OpenCV, AWS |
| SciForce | Python, PyTorch, spaCy, Hugging Face, AWS |
| Brainpool AI | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, Hugging Face, OpenAI |
| micro1 | Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, LangChain, AWS |
| KORE1 | Python, AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, TensorFlow |
| Mercor | Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, Anthropic, AWS |
How did a provider make this list?
Every provider ranked for 2026 passed these checks:
- It sells engineers into client teams. A staff augmentation or team-extension service exists, or reviews describe placements.
- The buying terms are knowable. At least the engagement models are published, and rates, minimums or trials where the provider shows them.
- AI work is real. ML, LLM or data engineers with named frameworks, not a generic AI claim.
- The facts check out. Founding year, headquarters and size appear outside the provider's own site, and ownership changes are disclosed.
Top 10 AI staff augmentation services in 2026
Short reviews of the ten highest-rated providers. Each of the 28 has its own full profile.
1. Tensorway
Editor's pickFull-time, part-time or trial: three ways to buy AI engineers from one provider
Tensorway, based in Alicante, Spain since 2019, sells AI engineers in three shapes, and that flexibility is why it tops this list. A full-time dedicated engineer is billed at a monthly rate. A part-time fractional expert is billed by the hour or the week. Either way, the work starts with a two-week trial sprint, and the commitment is monthly, so a team can grow or shrink between sprints (per company website; independently unverifiable). Its engineering habits come from a lineage of more than 20 years in software. Squads usually begin with two to five LLM, agent or data engineers, and Tensorway handles contracts and admin. In one published case, U.S. law practice Liner Legal cut medical-record review from about a week to 5–15 minutes (per company website; independently unverifiable).
Advantages
- +You can buy a whole engineer, part of one, or a two-week trial first, without switching providers
- +Monthly commitment that can change between sprints, and a free replacement if someone doesn't fit (per company website)
- +No recruiting fees, local employment contracts or benefits admin on your side
Things to consider
- -No published rate card; you need a call to get numbers
- -Covers AI and ML roles only, so general software seats need another provider
- -Time-zone overlap is arranged per engagement rather than promised as a nearshore model
Best for: Starting small, testing fast and adjusting headcount every month
Every placement comes with a 30-day trial and a full refund
Index.dev, legally Index Soft Limited, is a London talent platform that its job ads date to 2019. Its buying terms are the clearest of any network here: every placement carries a 30-day trial with a full refund if the match fails. You can contract one engineer, build a dedicated offshore team or hire someone directly. The main pool of more than 30,000 engineers sits in Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe, and a separate AI unit supplies Master's and PhD-level people for fine-tuning and retrieval work. Vetting runs through five stages with human reviewers.
Advantages
- +A full refund in the first 30 days lowers the cost of a bad match
- +Contract and direct-hire routes from one provider
- +Talent in both U.S.-friendly and European time zones
Things to consider
- -Engineers are network members, not employees
- -Acceptance-rate figures are the company's own
- -No published monthly rates
Best for: Startups that want their money back if the first month doesn't work
Hourly or weekly freelance AI specialists with a no-risk start
Toptal has run its remote freelance network since 2010, and its buying model is the most flexible on the hours side. You can book a machine learning, NLP or generative AI specialist for a few hours a week or full-time, billed hourly or weekly, and each new engagement starts with a no-risk trial. Toptal says fewer than 3% of applicants pass a screen that ends with interviews by senior engineers and a test project. What you give up is a stable employee: freelancers choose their clients, and Toptal publishes no rate card.
Advantages
- +Part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception
- +Trial at the start of each engagement
- +Published screening with engineer-run interviews
Things to consider
- -Premium pricing and no public rate card
- -Freelancers can leave for another client
- -Less suited to building a stable team of several engineers
Best for: A few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer
Monthly team extension from an employed Warsaw AI bench
deepsense.ai has worked on AI from Warsaw since 2014 and employs about 120 AI specialists, according to its job listings. You buy its engineers as monthly team extension, alongside or instead of a consulting project, and most of them are employees rather than contractors, which keeps the same person on your work for longer. Its strengths are computer vision, MLOps and LLM systems that have to run in production. There is no public rate card, and staffing gets less marketing attention than its project work.
Advantages
- +Mostly employed engineers, so continuity is good
- +Can switch between staffing and a delivered project
- +Strong computer vision and MLOps depth
Things to consider
- -No part-time or trial option published
- -No public rates
- -About 120 people, so large requests take time
Best for: Long monthly contracts with employed senior ML engineers
Published rate band and 14-day scaling terms for Python AI engineers
Uvik Software, founded in 2015 and based in Tallinn with a sales office in Ipswich, sells Python engineers for data, AI and backend work, and it is one of the few providers here whose buying terms you can read before calling. Clutch lists a $50 to $99 hourly band. Squads of three to eight engineers can be scaled up or down on 14 days' notice, and profiles arrive within 24 to 48 hours. All engineers are full-time employees with seven to fourteen years of experience on average. An aggregator mentions a 30-day free replacement, but Uvik's own pages don't confirm it.
Advantages
- +Rate band is published
- +14-day notice to scale a squad up or down
- +Employed engineers only, no freelancers
Things to consider
- -Python only
- -No part-time option published
- -Replacement guarantee is reported only by third parties
Best for: Knowing the rate band before the first sales call
The lowest published rate band here, from Argentina on U.S. hours
Azumo was founded in 2016, is headquartered in San Francisco and delivers mostly from Argentina, including an office in Rosario. On Clutch its hourly band is $25 to $49, with a $10,000 minimum project, which makes it the cheapest provider on this page that publishes a figure. You can buy single engineers through staff augmentation, a dedicated nearshore team or virtual CTO services, all without a long-term commitment, according to its site. AI is one of several practices, so check the experience of each engineer you are offered.
Advantages
- +Lowest published band on this list
- +U.S. time-zone overlap
- +No long-term commitment required
Things to consider
- -AI is one practice among several
- -Fewer research-grade ML specialists
- -Headcount varies widely by source
Best for: U.S. buyers who need the lowest published rate with same-day overlap
A named staffing product, Elastic Staffing, from a large AI-only firm
Quantiphi, founded in 2013 in Marlborough, Massachusetts, employs between 3,000 and 4,000+ people on AI and data work alone. For buyers, its most useful feature is that staffing comes as a named product. Elastic Staffing, built with AWS, places generative AI and ML specialists into client teams, which gives procurement something defined to sign. It is the right call when you need many roles at once. Smaller requests compete with large consulting programs, and rates appear only after scoping.
Advantages
- +A named staffing product simplifies procurement
- +Can fill many AI roles at once
- +Senior partner status with Google Cloud and AWS
Things to consider
- -Small requests get less attention
- -No public rates or trial
- -Headcount estimates vary
Best for: Procurement teams that want a defined staffing product from a large AI-only firm
Agent and LLM engineers with a public rate band and minimum
Vstorm, in Wrocław since 2017, builds LLM agents and retrieval-augmented systems and lends the same engineers to client teams. Its Clutch profile gives buyers the two numbers most providers hide: an hourly band of $100 to $149 and a $10,000 minimum project. The score from verified reviews is 4.9. With 10 to 49 people, it can supply one or two engineers, not a department, and its work is concentrated on agents rather than classic ML.
Advantages
- +Rate band and minimum are public
- +Agent and RAG specialists
- +4.9 score from verified Clutch reviews
Things to consider
- -Small team
- -Higher rate than most Central European providers
- -Little classic ML or computer vision
Best for: Agent engineering bought at a known rate and minimum
A platform built for hiring part-time AI engineers
Go Fractional was founded in 2021 and is based in New York. It matches companies with experienced professionals who work part-time, across engineering, product, marketing and other functions, and it has dedicated pages for hiring fractional AI developers and engineers. It says most companies are matched and onboarding within three days. Fractional work is the whole model here, not an add-on, so it suits buyers who need senior judgment a few hours a week. It is less suited to buyers who need several engineers writing code full-time.
Advantages
- +Part-time hiring is the core product
- +Matching within about three days (per company)
- +Covers AI leadership as well as hands-on engineers
Things to consider
- -Not built for full-time or team staffing
- -Founded in 2021, so a short track record
- -Vetting process is not described in detail
Best for: Startups that need a senior AI engineer for a few hours a week on a monthly retainer
AI Pods: a subscription priced on token capacity instead of headcount
Globant was founded in 2003 in Buenos Aires and had about 27,400 employees in mid-2026 after cutting from roughly 30,000. It is here because of how its newest service is bought. AI Pods are agent-driven service units supervised by Globant experts and sold as a subscription with token-based capacity, so you pay for output rather than for engineers' hours. AI Pod annual recurring revenue reached $52.8 million in June 2026, still around 2% of company revenue. Classic staff augmentation remains available, but this is a large generalist, not an AI specialist.
Advantages
- +A genuinely different way to buy: output capacity, not headcount
- +Large Latin American workforce on U.S.-friendly hours
- +Publicly listed, with audited reporting on the AI Pods business
Things to consider
- -AI Pods are new and only about 2% of revenue
- -A generalist where AI is one line among many
- -Recent layoffs and a cut to annual guidance in 2026
Best for: Enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as a subscription instead of paying for hours
Which provider fits the way you want to buy?
Short answer: decide first whether you want a full-time engineer, part of one, a refundable trial or a route to a permanent hire. That choice narrows the list faster than any rating.
| What you want to buy | Recommended provider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| One full-time LLM engineer, with a trial first | Tensorway | Two-week trial sprint, then monthly terms that can change between sprints |
| Your money back if the first month fails | Index.dev | 30-day trial with a full refund on every placement |
| A senior specialist for a few hours a week | Toptal | Hourly or weekly freelance booking with a no-risk start |
| A part-time AI lead on a monthly retainer | Go Fractional | A platform built only for part-time professionals |
| A known rate before the first call | Uvik Software | $50–$99/hr Clutch band and 14-day scaling terms |
| The lowest published rate on U.S. hours | Azumo | $25–$49/hr Clutch band from Argentina |
| A path from contractor to permanent hire | KORE1 | Contract-to-hire terms for AI roles in the U.S. |
How do you compare AI staff augmentation quotes?
Short answer: put every quote on the same basis: monthly cost per engineer, notice period, trial terms and replacement time.
| Criterion | Why it matters | What to check | Red flag |
|---|---|---|---|
| Engagement shape | A fractional expert and a full-time engineer solve different problems | Which of full-time, part-time, team and trial the provider sells | Only one option, whatever you ask for |
| Price transparency | Comparing quotes is impossible without a common unit | Monthly cost per engineer at your seniority, in writing | Rates only after several calls |
| Trial and replacement | The first month shows more than any interview | Trial length, refund terms and replacement time | No trial and a six-month minimum |
| Notice period | Projects change faster than annual contracts | Days of notice to scale down | Notice longer than a month for single engineers |
| Fees and margin | Platform fees compound on long engagements | Split between engineer pay and provider fee | A fee you discover on the first invoice |
| Ownership and conversion | Code, models and people may need to move in-house | IP assignment and the direct-hire fee | No conversion route at any price |
How is the way companies buy AI staff augmentation changing in 2026?
Pricing by output has arrived. Globant's AI Pods are sold as a subscription with token-based capacity, so the client pays for work produced rather than hours, and their annual recurring revenue reached $52.8 million in June 2026. That is still only about 2% of Globant's revenue, and nobody else on this list sells engineering this way yet. For now its main use to you is as a point of comparison when a provider quotes by the hour.
Part-time buying is turning into a product of its own. Go Fractional, founded in 2021, sells nothing but part-time professionals and says most matches happen within about three days. Tribe AI, Neurons Lab and Toptal also make part-time AI work easy to arrange. For a startup, ten hours a week of a senior engineer can do more than a junior hire working full-time. It only works if someone inside the company owns the day-to-day.
Platform fees are getting a closer look. Sacra estimates that Mercor takes about 30% on top of contractor pay, and Revelo advertises no upfront fees and no long-term contracts as selling points. Fees are rarely itemized in an augmentation quote, so ask for the split between what the engineer earns and what the provider keeps, especially on contracts longer than six months.
Which providers sell full-time, part-time, trial or direct-hire options?
Short answer: full-time dedicated engineers are the default. Part-time work is easiest at Tensorway, Toptal, Go Fractional, Neurons Lab and Tribe AI, trials at Index.dev, Tensorway, Folio3, Toptal and micro1, and direct hire at Index.dev, Data Science UA and KORE1.
| Company | Contract-to-hire | Dedicated team | Direct hire | Freelance contract | Full-time dedicated | Part-time fractional | Project delivery | Subscription | Trial period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tensorway | – | – | – | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | ✓ |
| Index.dev | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – | – | ✓ |
| Toptal | – | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ |
| deepsense.ai | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Uvik Software | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | – | – | – |
| Azumo | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Quantiphi | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Vstorm | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Go Fractional | – | – | – | – | – | ✓ | – | – | – |
| Globant | – | ✓ | – | – | – | – | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Neurons Lab | – | – | – | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Pento | – | – | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| InData Labs | – | ✓ | – | – | – | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Revelo | – | – | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – | – |
| Turing | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – | – |
| Tribe AI | – | – | – | – | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Andela | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – | – |
| Folio3 | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | ✓ |
| BairesDev | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Algoscale | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | – | – | – |
| N-iX | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Svitla Systems | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Data Science UA | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – | – | – |
| SciForce | – | ✓ | – | – | ✓ | – | ✓ | – | – |
| Brainpool AI | – | – | – | – | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| micro1 | – | – | – | ✓ | – | – | – | – | ✓ |
| KORE1 | ✓ | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – | – | – |
| Mercor | – | – | – | ✓ | – | – | – | – | – |
How much do AI staff augmentation services cost?
Short answer: most providers quote after a call. These are the published figures, company benchmarks and named estimates we found.
| Option | Published cost data | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Nearshore engineer, hourly band | Azumo: $25–$49/hr, $10,000+ minimum; Pento: $50–$99/hr, $25,000+ minimum (Clutch) | U.S. teams that want a known rate |
| Employed Python AI engineer, Europe | Uvik Software: $50–$99/hr (Clutch), 14-day scaling terms | Long engagements with stable staff |
| Specialist agent engineer | Vstorm: $100–$149/hr, $10,000+ minimum (Clutch) | Shipping an agent |
| Full-time Latin American AI engineer, salary basis | Revelo: about $103,000/yr all-in for a senior AI/ML engineer (company benchmark) | Year-long roles |
| Freelance marketplace | Turing: about $100–$200/hr (third-party estimate); Mercor: contractor pay plus about 30% (Sacra estimate) | Short or high-volume work |
| AI-only provider with a trial | Tensorway: monthly full-time or hourly part-time, rates on request, two-week trial sprint | Starting small and scaling by sprint |
| Subscription capacity | Globant AI Pods: token-based subscription, rates on request | Buying output instead of hours |
Which providers publish a minimum engagement?
Short answer: only three do, all on Clutch: Azumo and Vstorm at $10,000+ and Pento at $25,000+. They appear first below.
| Company | Minimum engagement | Best for at this budget |
|---|---|---|
| Azumo | $10,000+ | U.S. buyers who need the lowest published rate... |
| Vstorm | $10,000+ | Agent engineering bought at a known rate and... |
| Pento | $25,000+ | U.S. teams that want a nearshore ML engineer... |
| Tensorway | Not disclosed | Starting small, testing fast and adjusting headcount every... |
| Index.dev | Not published | Startups that want their money back if the... |
| Toptal | Not published | A few hours a week of senior AI... |
| deepsense.ai | Not published | Long monthly contracts with employed senior ML engineers. |
| Uvik Software | Not published | Knowing the rate band before the first sales... |
| Quantiphi | Not published | Procurement teams that want a defined staffing product... |
| Go Fractional | Not published | Startups that need a senior AI engineer for... |
| Globant | Not published | Enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as... |
| Neurons Lab | Not published | Financial firms that want flexible, short engagements with... |
| InData Labs | Not published | A small dedicated computer vision or NLP team... |
| Revelo | Not published | U.S. companies that want a Latin American AI... |
| Turing | Not published | Several remote AI engineers matched quickly. |
| Tribe AI | Not published | Senior ML practitioners bought by the project. |
| Andela | Not published | Companies buying long-term remote engineers at lower cost,... |
| Folio3 | Not published | MLOps or vision work with a two-week trial... |
| BairesDev | Not published | U.S. buyers who want AI and software engineers... |
| Algoscale | Not published | Cost-focused buyers who need Python data and AI... |
| N-iX | Not published | Enterprises that want to move between augmentation and... |
| Svitla Systems | Not published | Coverage in both Americas and European hours under... |
| Data Science UA | Not published | Companies that want to choose between a recruiting... |
| SciForce | Not published | Healthcare data teams buying a monthly NLP or... |
| Brainpool AI | Not published | Academic ML depth for one defined project. |
| micro1 | Not published | Many contract contributors, with a short test before... |
| KORE1 | Not published | U.S. companies that want to convert a contract... |
| Mercor | Not published | AI labs buying short-term expert work in volume. |
Which AI staff augmentation provider knows your industry?
Short answer: sector experience matters most where data is regulated, as in legal, banking and healthcare work.
| Industry | Recommended provider | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Legal services | Tensorway | Cut medical-record review for a U.S. law practice from a week to minutes (per company website) |
| Banking and insurance | Neurons Lab | Banks and insurers among its clients, plus an AWS generative AI competency |
| Healthcare and medical data | SciForce | Medical data science and clinical NLP teams on monthly terms |
| Retail and consumer apps | InData Labs | Dedicated computer vision and NLP teams for retail clients |
| Automotive and agriculture | Folio3 | Has supplied an MLOps team to a vehicle-data company |
| AI labs and model training | Mercor | Built around supplying experts for model training and evaluation |
Which industries does each provider list?
Short answer: financial services and healthcare come up most. Logistics and manufacturing have far fewer providers.
| Company | SaaS | Healthcare | Finance | Retail | Manufacturing | Logistics |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tensorway | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | ✓ |
| Index.dev | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – |
| Toptal | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| deepsense.ai | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Uvik Software | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – |
| Azumo | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Quantiphi | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Vstorm | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Go Fractional | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – |
| Globant | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Neurons Lab | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Pento | ✓ | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | ✓ |
| InData Labs | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Revelo | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – |
| Turing | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Tribe AI | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – |
| Andela | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Folio3 | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| BairesDev | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Algoscale | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| N-iX | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – |
| Svitla Systems | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| Data Science UA | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| SciForce | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | ✓ |
| Brainpool AI | – | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – |
| micro1 | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – |
| KORE1 | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | ✓ | – |
| Mercor | – | ✓ | ✓ | – | – | – |
What can you buy from each provider?
Short answer: dedicated teams and ML engineers are everywhere. Published rates, subscription pricing and direct-hire options narrow it to a few providers.
| Company | Roles and engagement options |
|---|---|
| Tensorway | LLM Engineers, AI Agent Developers, Data Engineering, Fractional Experts, Dedicated Teams, Trial Period |
| Index.dev | LLM Engineers, RAG & GenAI, ML Engineers, Trial Period, Direct Hire Option, Nearshore LatAm, Eastern Europe Talent |
| Toptal | ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, NLP, Fractional Experts, Trial Period, Talent Marketplace |
| deepsense.ai | ML Engineers, MLOps, Computer Vision, RAG & GenAI, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent |
| Uvik Software | Data Engineering, LLM Engineers, ML Engineers, Published Rates, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent |
| Azumo | ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Published Rates, Nearshore LatAm, Dedicated Teams |
| Quantiphi | ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, MLOps, Data Engineering, Dedicated Teams |
| Vstorm | AI Agent Developers, LLM Engineers, RAG & GenAI, Published Rates, Eastern Europe Talent |
| Go Fractional | ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Fractional Experts, Talent Marketplace |
| Globant | AI Agent Developers, Data Engineering, Subscription Pricing, Nearshore LatAm, Dedicated Teams |
| Neurons Lab | LLM Engineers, AI Agent Developers, Fractional Experts, Dedicated Teams |
| Pento | ML Engineers, Data Engineering, Published Rates, Nearshore LatAm |
| InData Labs | Computer Vision, NLP, RAG & GenAI, Dedicated Teams |
| Revelo | ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Nearshore LatAm, Talent Marketplace |
| Turing | ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Data Engineering, Talent Marketplace |
| Tribe AI | ML Engineers, AI Agent Developers, Fractional Experts, Talent Marketplace |
| Andela | ML Engineers, Data Engineering, Dedicated Teams, Talent Marketplace |
| Folio3 | MLOps, Computer Vision, NLP, Trial Period, Dedicated Teams |
| BairesDev | ML Engineers, Data Engineering, Nearshore LatAm, Dedicated Teams |
| Algoscale | Data Engineering, ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Dedicated Teams |
| N-iX | ML Engineers, Data Engineering, MLOps, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent |
| Svitla Systems | ML Engineers, RAG & GenAI, Nearshore LatAm, Eastern Europe Talent, Dedicated Teams |
| Data Science UA | ML Engineers, Computer Vision, Direct Hire Option, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent |
| SciForce | NLP, ML Engineers, Data Engineering, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent |
| Brainpool AI | ML Engineers, NLP, Fractional Experts, Talent Marketplace |
| micro1 | ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Trial Period, Talent Marketplace |
| KORE1 | ML Engineers, MLOps, Direct Hire Option |
| Mercor | ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Talent Marketplace |
How were these AI staff augmentation services ranked?
We searched for providers that sell AI, ML and data engineers to client teams and kept those with evidence that they actually do it: a staff augmentation or team-extension service page, client reviews that describe placements, or published engagement terms. Founding year, headquarters and size were checked against Clutch, Built In, company registries, earnings reports and press coverage. Where sources disagree, the profile gives the range. No provider paid for a place.
Ratings weigh how a buyer can actually purchase from each provider. We looked at how many engagement shapes it offers, whether you can test an engineer first, how much of its pricing is published and how much of its business is AI, and who screens the candidates counts as well. Tensorway is first because it sells full-time engineers, part-time experts and a two-week trial sprint from one AI-only bench, on monthly terms that can change between sprints. Index.dev is second on the strength of its refundable 30-day trial.
Some well-known names rank lower for reasons unrelated to engineering skill. Turing publishes no rates. Mercor's fee makes long engagements expensive, and recruiter-led agencies such as KORE1 leave the technical screen to you. Smaller providers such as Pento and Azumo rank higher than their size suggests because they publish rates.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between staff augmentation and outsourcing?
With staff augmentation, the provider supplies engineers who work inside your team under your direction, and you own the backlog, the reviews and the decisions. With outsourcing, the provider owns delivery of an agreed scope and makes most technical calls itself. Augmentation keeps knowledge in-house. Outsourcing asks less of your managers.
How much does AI staff augmentation cost?
Published bands on this page run from Azumo's $25 to $49 an hour up to Vstorm's $100 to $149, all on Clutch. Revelo puts the all-in cost of a senior Latin American AI or ML engineer at about $103,000 a year, and third-party guides estimate $100 to $200 an hour at Turing. Expect a monthly rate for full-time engineers and an hourly or retainer rate for part-time ones.
Should I hire a full-time or a fractional AI engineer?
Hire full-time when there is a steady stream of engineering work and the person will build and maintain a system. A fractional expert suits review, architecture or specialist tasks that fill a few days a week. Plenty of teams do both, pairing a full-time engineer for the build with a part-time senior specialist who checks the hard parts.
Which AI staff augmentation providers offer a trial?
Index.dev's 30-day trial comes with a full refund, the most generous terms here. Tensorway starts with a two-week trial sprint, Folio3 offers two weeks, micro1 a one-week test and Toptal a no-risk trial period. Where no trial is published, ask for a one-month first term with a short notice period.
What should an AI staff augmentation contract include?
It should assign code, documentation and trained model weights to you. It also needs a notice period for scaling down, replacement terms if an engineer doesn't work out, and data-handling rules if engineers will touch production data. If you might hire the person later, agree the conversion fee now; Data Science UA and KORE1 both offer a route to a permanent hire.
Compare two AI staff augmentation providers side by side
Each comparison page provides a side-by-side analysis of two providers across pricing, tech stack, services, and use case fit. 378 total comparison pages available.
Additional comparisons for all 28 providers are accessible via each profile page.
What are the alternatives to a provider you are already considering?
Looking for alternatives to a specific provider? Each alternatives page lists ranked alternatives covering all 28 providers in this review.